How to properly configure PufferPanel from a "best practices" standpoint?

• Hey there,

I recently started using PufferPanel and so far I'm loving it, but I'm a bit confused as to what the optimum setup should be. I'm configuring this on a self-built, home lab OpenStack KVM environment, but I do attempt to use best practices whenever possible, hardware permitting.

My current infrastructure looks like this:

SYSTEM1

• Hosts OpenStack Controller node
    • Hosts OpenStack Network node

KVM1

• Hosts any game servers that I build

I guess my question is, should PufferPanel be installed directly on each game server I choose to host or should I be installing it as its own VM, perhaps on the SYSTEM1 host? For example, if I spin up a VM called GAME1, should I be installing PufferPanel on this VM or is PufferPanel designed to be a standalone machine that simply manages the game servers?

Sorry. I'm new to all of this but would love to learn how it should be done.

• Hello!

The answer to your question is that, you should install the "node" to the game servers and have one access the web only.

Maybe using

ufw

If you use this method to block please make sure you don't lock yourself out because you forgot to add ssh port.

The PufferPanel is meant to be used on a web server then if possible use different server(nodes) to connect back to the panel to manage services. This is a great method when we get billing added into our code.

Sincerely ,
    falceso

• Hi,

You're on the right track. PufferPanel should be installed on a single server.

The game nodes should be separate machines that each run Scales which communicates back to the PufferPanel server. I don't know what kind of hardware you're dealing with but I found that it was much more cost-efficient and easier to manage a few beefy (powerful) servers running Scales, instead of little VM's for each gameserver.